greenbackgrazers


Couponing: Part Deux
March 16, 2012, 10:02 PM
Filed under: couponing, Financial tips

Good evening!  I am so excited to share with you more about your adventures in couponing!  Yesterday, I sat down and went through all the circulars and compared them with my coupons that I had clipped earlier in the week.  I had a notebook in hand and spread out the circulars and my coupon file.  If you’d like to do this too, you’ll need a notebook, pen, circulars from your local grocery stores, and a book to put your coupons in.  For this I used a simple, small, 100 page photo book I found for $1 at a craft store.  It gave me plenty of room to organize my coupons.

1) Organize your coupons.  Group by item first.  I group items such as cleaning products, with sub sets of kitchen products, bathroom cleaners, dusting, etc.  Then caned foods, dry goods, personal care items, etc.

2) Make a list of what items you need from the store.  Only pull the coupons for what items you need.  You may wind up with many coupons for one item in different brands.  As you search the circulars you may find that another brand may give you a better price with a coupon.

3)  Next with your note-book make a chart of each item and its’ price  at each store.   Write down the price in column.  Once you have finished collecting and comparing the prices.  See which one is the best price.

4)  Now convert your chart into lists.  Make a list of your items and which stores have the best price.  I put my coupon with each list.  This kept me from buying things that weren’t on the list, or ones I didn’t have coupons for.

In the end after discovering that with all the circulars; most of the items I wanted were at three stores.  I started at the farthest one first and worked my way back towards home.  While this did take time, as it was my first foray into the world of cuponing, I belive it was worth the trip.  I wound up saving $35 in coupons!   Next I am going back to my discount store and compare to see how much I saved and if I’ll continue to do well.  I hope this has helped you.  Please feel free to ask questions:)  Thanks for reading!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

