greenbackgrazers


Recipes for Easter or Palm Sunday
March 28, 2012, 7:54 AM
Filed under: Life style, recipes

With Palm Sunday and Passover and Easter on the horizon, I have seen lots of advertisements for deals in several stores.   I had never noticed that there are a lot of stores in our area that carry and offer specials on Passover foods.  Some even give away free products with purchase.  For our Jewish readers you’ll want to check the circulars for which one has the best prices as I am not sure what makes a good price for each of these.

My family celebrates Easter and my husband’s family celebrates Palm Sunday.  This year brings a new challenge and some happy memories.  It may be my first time taking over the holiday.  I find that the holidays always bring back memories of days gone-by.   They say that the sense of smell is the strongest connection to memory, and I agree.  The scent of Easter Flowers such as hyacinths.  It reminds me of sitting around the table with Aunts and Uncles, cousins, kids running to and fro being chased by dogs and giggles of excitement fill the house as little ones discover the treasure hidden in an Easter egg.  The smell baked ham, mashed potatoes with butter, green beans, crescent rolls, and fresh from the corner bakery eclaires and cream puffs.  It seems a daunting task to reproduce all the aspects of a perfect holiday.

This possibility weighs heavy on my mind.  This year as host for the first time I have the responsibility to draw in my husband’s family traditions as well.  The recipe I chose to include comes from my mother-in-law’s cookbook.  Its called Pineapple Bread.

Pineapple Bread-

Oven at 350.  Use a greased casserole dish usually 9×13.  You will need:   1/2 cup butter, 3/4 cup of sugar, 4 eggs-(beat together well), 1 lg can of pineapple with juice, 5 slices of white bread torn in fine pieces.

Mix and bake 1/2 hour (or until puffed).

This is delicious and a crowd pleaser.  It’ll be a nice homemade addition to your table this year.

If anyone else has great Easter, Passover, or Palm Sunday traditions and recipes, please pass them along!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

This is really fascinating, You are an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and stay up for in search of more of your great post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

Comment by Most wel used medical devices|




Leave a Reply

