greenbackgrazers


How to Add Value to Your Life
April 17, 2012, 1:52 PM
Filed under: etiquette, Healthly Living, Life style

“A dying culture invariably exhibits personal rudeness. Bad manners. Lack of consideration for others in minor matters. A loss of politeness, of gentle manners, is more significant than is a riot…”  ―    Robert A. Heinlein

A big hello to all our readers this beautiful sun shine filled day!  First my apologies for missing some days.  We had a busy group of days there for a while.  But we’re back in full swing  today.  Recently, I have inherited some old books which is one of my favorite things to collect and one of these books was a book on etiquette from 1923.  This intrigued me and got me thinking about how we seem to have lost that human touch in our daily interactions.  I was always tought that using etiquette was a way of showing respect for another person.  Manners are a way of showing other people we care about them.  -Brandon Fraiser in Blast from the Past.  “I know, I mean I thought a “gentleman” was somebody that owned horses. But it turns out, his short and simple definition of a lady or a gentleman is, someone who always tries to make sure the people around him or her are as comfortable as possible.”  Troy-Blast From the Past.   This is the simplest and best definition of etiquette I have heard for some time.

Recently, I have felt a rekindling of a desire to show respect for others and to do my part to make the world a kinder and gentler place.  I don’t know if this comes from getting older, or experiences I have had,  or from a personal conviction.  Whatever it is, I am going to explore different ways to show respect to my fellow citizens of this world how much I value them and myself.  This  is the start of a journey which I will share with as I go.  I hope this is helpful to you.

Today I’ll start with something I felt prompted to do; I wrote a note to the wife of one of my husband’s friends.  We recently spent some time together and I wanted to thank her for taking the time to get a sitter and visit with us.  I told her how nice it was to meet one of the men my husband works with that I hear so much about.  I thanked her for the pleasant conversation and said how I hoped we could do it again sometime.  I left it open so she could call again if she wished.  My thought was just to tell her she was appreciated.  We don’t ever hear that often enough.

Another thing I have gone back to doing is sending thank yous and birthday cards.  Wether you are thanking someone for a reference, a gift or an invitation, its nice to get something other than a bill in the mail.  I was at a bridal shower over the weekend and the bride’s mother gave everyone a recipe card with address written carefully in calligraphy and with a stamp already affixed.  She said so that it would bring a nice little something to look forward to.  I think that is the nicest idea I had heard for a long time.  So I am going to find a good recipe and jot it down and send it to her at a random moment.  I think it will help her to know that someone was thinking about her and uplift her for the day.

Well ladies and gents, that’s it for today.   Tune in next time for another exciting (or not so exciting but hopefully inspiring) episode of  How to Add Value to Your Life.

 

“Respect for ourselves guides our morals; respect for others guides our manners”  ―    Laurence Sterne

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

